

## STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

## **New Hampshire Medicaid Program**

**To**: NH Medicaid Enrolled Pharmacists

From: NH Division of Medicaid Services

**Date**: April 25, 2023

**Subject**: Pharmacist Provided Medical Services - Correction

**Correction:** The Rate for CPT Code 99211 (Office or other outpatient visit for the evaluation and management of established patient that may not require presence of healthcare professional) is \$16.40.

Effective 1/1/2022 New Hampshire Chapter Law 126-A:3 states that "Pharmacists shall be considered providers under RSA 126-A:3, III for the purpose of billing for providing services performed within the scope of a person's license when said service would have been covered under this section if furnished by a physician or as an incident to a physician's service, or furnished by a physician assistant or an advanced registered nurse practitioner."

Billing for these services must be done on a medical claim form (CMS 1500 or 837P). The pharmacist must be a New Hampshire Medicaid enrolled non-billing provider affiliated to an enrolled billing provider (pharmacy or clinic). The NPIs of the billing provider (pharmacy or clinic), rendering provider (pharmacist) and the ordering/referring/prescribing (ORP) provider are required on the claim for the claim to be paid.

## **Billing for Nicotine Cessation Therapy Services:**

Pharmacists are authorized to provide nicotine cessation therapy pursuant to a standing order and to be reimbursed by Medicaid. Currently, the Medicaid program covers tobacco cessation counseling services for pregnant women only. N.H. allows eight counseling sessions per each of two quit attempts.

CPT Code	Description	Rate effective 1/1/2021
99406	Smoking and tobacco use intensive counseling, 4-10 minutes	\$8.85
99407	Smoking and tobacco use intensive counseling, more than 10 minutes	\$17.36

## Billing for other services within the scope of a pharmacist's license:

Use the following level 1 Evaluation/Management (E/M) codes for billing services pursuant to a standing order or collaborative practice agreement:

CPT Code	Description	Rate effective 1/1/2021
99202	Office or outpatient visit for the evaluation and management of a new patient, which requires a medically appropriate history and/or examination and straightforward medical decision making. Total time 15-29 minutes	\$35.71
99211	Office or other outpatient visit for the evaluation and management of established patient that may not require presence of healthcare professional	\$16.40

Use CPT coding guidelines to determine status of new or established patient.

Providers are required to maintain electronic and paper billing records in support of claims for at least six years from the date of service or until the resolution of any legal action(s) commenced during the six-year period, whichever is longer.

If there are any questions on this notice, please contact the Provider Relations Unit at (603) 223-4774 or (866) 291-1674.

Thank you,

NH Medicaid Provider Relations