

## STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

## **New Hampshire Medicaid Program**

**To**: NH Medicaid Enrolled Providers

From: NH Division of Medicaid Services

**Date**: August 8, 2023

**Subject**: Nicotine Cessation Counseling Services

As required by House Bill 2, passed on 6/8/2023 and signed by the Governor on 6/20/2023, NH Medicaid has expanded nicotine cessation counseling to all NH Medicaid members. This change is in effect as of 7/1/2023.

The following New Hampshire Medicaid enrolled providers may provide these services:

- Physicians
- Physician Groups
- Osteopaths
- Osteopath groups
- Physician Assistants
- Advanced Practice Registered Nurses
- Psychotherapists
- Midwifes
- Pharmacies (cannot bill group services)
- Pharmacists (cannot bill group services)

## **Billing for Nicotine Cessation Therapy Services:**

Billing for these services must be done on a medical claim form (CMS 1500 or 837P).

The ordering provider and the rendering provider are required on claims. Pharmacists, please see this prior notice for more detailed billing information: Pharmacists Provided Medical Services

N.H. allows eight counseling sessions per each of two quit attempts.

CPT Code	Description	Rate effective 7/1/2023
99406	Smoking and tobacco use intermediate counseling, 4-10 minutes	\$9.12
99407	Smoking and tobacco use intensive counseling, more than 10 minutes	\$17.88
99407 HQ	Smoking and tobacco use intensive counseling, more than 10 minutes, group setting	\$8.94

Providers are required to maintain electronic and paper billing records in support of claims for at least six years from the date of service or until the resolution of any legal action(s) commenced during the six-year period, whichever is longer.

If there are any questions on this notice, please contact the Provider Relations Unit at (603) 223-4774 or (866) 291-1674.

Thank you,

NH Medicaid Provider Relations