

STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

New Hampshire Medicaid Program

To: NH Medicaid Enrolled Providers

From: NH Medicaid

Date: January 8, 2020

Subject: Rate Increase for NH Medicaid's State Plan and Waiver Services, Effective January 1, 2020

The New Hampshire Legislature appropriated funds for a 3.1 percent increase for Medicaid provider rates for state plan and waiver services, excluding inpatient-only substance use disorder (SUD) treatment services (there was a very recent update adjustment). The Designated Receiving Facilities (DRF) and new Voluntary Inpatient Psychiatric Atypical Rates were subject to separate legislative updates found at HB 4, Chapter 346:356, Laws of 2019 and Senate Bill 11, Chapter 41, Laws of 2019, respectively. The rate increase was effective January 1, 2020. There will be an additional 3.1 percent increase effective January 1, 2021. (HB 4, Chapter 346:348, Laws of 2019).

The Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS) will pay claims at the new, higher rates for services provided on or after January 1, 2020. The higher procedure code rates are in NH Medicaid's 2020 Fee-For-Service Fee Schedules, posted in the MMIS, under the *Documentation* tab at top of the homepage, under *Documents and Forms*. A provider does not have to log into the MMIS to access the fee schedules.

The 3.1 percent provider rate increase and the DRF and Voluntary Psychiatric Atypical rates were actuarially incorporated into the Managed Care Organizations' (MCOs) capitation rates for services on or after January 1, 2020.

The Durable Medical Equipment (DME) Fee Schedule was updated to incorporate manually priced items where possible. The MCO contract has a Directed Payment Minimum DME Fee Schedule of 80 percent of the Medicaid Fee-For-Service Fee Schedule. A total of \$3.1 million was added to the MCO capitation rates to account for the 80 percent.

The Legislature enacted the rate increases to support providers' capacity to serve Medicaid beneficiaries. For questions on billing and claim payments, please contact the NH Medicaid Provider Relations Call Center at 866-291-1674 or email <u>nhproviderrelations@conduent.com</u>.